Budodag in Vlissingen

Monday, 30 April 2012

Hey folks!

Yet another post. This one to talk about my Karate training last Saturday in Vlissingen, a city in the South West, at almost 2 hours by train from Delft. Getting there was quite a challenge (in particular getting up early on a Saturday morning to catch the 7.24 intercity), but it was worth it.

The stage was divided in two sessions:

Karate

Otto talked about the importance of strong stances, and shown us an exercise to get legs strong. I can assure you it works. We did 100 repetitions, and after 2 days I still cannot feel my legs.

He also emphasized balance. We did an exercise from kibadachi, lifting the left knee up, kick, down, and then to the right, without losing balance.

Another good exercise was about using the hips. We had to snap quickly and let our belt fly around. That was fun! especially because we did all this in a circle, looking at each other.

Then we learnt the “Tamashi kata”, a kata invented by him, to show that it is possible and fun to do. It was actually just a warming up for Gojushiho Dai, which we trained afterwards.

(yes, the kata on the video says “Gojushiho Sho”, but it is the one we practised. There is only some confusion about the names.)

After the kata we focused on kumite:

  • Kihon sambon kumite, using only basic techniques.
  • Sanbon kumite, more advanced, the defender decides the rhythm.
  • Kihon Ippon kumite, only basic techniques, for kids.
  • Ippon kumite, more freedom on he counter-attack.
  • Renraku kumite, two attacks.
  • Ura kumite, attacker wins with a counter-counter-attack.

Kobujutsu

That was new for me. I had never before trained with weapons (except for some occasional bunkai, but not real Okinawan weapons).

We learnt how to move the to defend and to attack first, and then split in two groups, one for beginners to continue managing a , and another one to practise with sai.

We learnt the first kata: Shuji no kon sho ryu kyu kobujutsu

Then we performed 4 kumites from the kata with partner.

I found it very interesting, because a lot of techniques can be applied following the karate principles. Actually, I think it could be seen as an extension to karate. The teacher used all kind of connections between the two to show us how easy it is. And it is true. After 3 hours of training, I learnt quite a lot.

Well, I also received some strikes and have some bruises, but nothing important. I’ll survive. Looking forward for the next stage, and maybe I should buy a . It is fun! 😀

Arigatō sensei!


Koninginnedag 2012 goodies

Monday, 30 April 2012

Update: I forgot to mention the 4 glasses of bier (La Chouffe style) I bought. 🙂

Hi there!

These are the goodies I bought today at the flea market:

Koninginnedag 2012 goodies

  • “Vlooienspel” and “Reizen door Europa” for my nieces. Both games fully tested before our BBQ. Old games, but still funny and in good condition.
  • A flower vase for my girlfriend, so I can bring her more flowers without her complaining that she has no room for them. 😉
  • 2 albums for my LP collection:
    • Dire Straits: “Brother in Arms”
    • Simply Red: “Picture Book”.
  • A nice fish and a necklace (which is a bit too short)
  • 99 pieces puzzle. Can’t wait to test it!

Oh, the book is not part of my Koninginnedag purchases, but the book I’m reading right now: “La vida esta en otra parte”, written by Milan Kundera. It is a very interesting book.

It was a wonderful day, incredibly sunny. I really enjoyed the free market and also eating our own salads at our little barbecue. It was fun! Thanks! 🙂

However, I missed someone important. I hope you get well soon! 😉

Tot gauw!

PS: for the curious, here are some pictures.