Bouncing post

I don’t know if I’ve already written about this, but for sure I wanted to tell you a long time ago. Imagine you live in a house where housemates move in and out every year. Some change their address, but most of them forget about it.

What happens?

We get a ton of letters and magazines we don’t want.

What to do?

Simple. We could throw them to the trash, as I believe most people do in such situation. However, I compare tradcional mail to e-mail, and I imagine myself as a “postmaster”. Have you ever sent an e-mail to a friend and got a reply from the mailserver that such address no longer exists, or that the mailbox is full? You can do exactly the same in the “real” world!

What I do is cross our address and write ONBEKEND (=”Unknown”) on every letter, and then I send them back. You just have to put them on the postbox and the mailman will return them to the sender. The sender will then (fortunately) remove that person from their database, and you will stop receiving unwanted post. It’s easy, it costs you only a couple of minutes and it works. 😉

I’ve done it a couple of times, and I think it is much better than just “relaying” post to your old housemates. Sometimes they never come to fetch it, and otherwise they will never change their address.

I’m so happy… 🙂

One Response to Bouncing post

  1. […] as I wasn’t feeling like shopping anything else, I came back. Ah, I also took the liberty of bouncing some mail (I love that!) and grease my bicycle chain. Now I’m ready for a succulent […]

Leave a Reply

