Visiting the new AH

Before writing my last post of the year, I would like to share with you my visit to the new AH they’ve open in the center, just where there was a C1000. I think the street is called Choorstraat. Ah, AH stands for Albert-Heijn.

I normally go the C1000, just because it is below the office, and I can do my shopping on my lunch pause. The rest of purchases I do at the little Turkish shops of Poptahof. They have Spanish products, as well as exotic things ou cannot find at the Supermarket. They are also very friendly.

Well, today I’ve entered the AH just to take a look. I had no rush, and I only needed milk, bread and tomatoes (I’ve end up buying mandarijnen and Stroopwafels as well, but I think is fine). What surprises me is how well organized are all products, especially all the food packages for lazy cookers. You can find everything you want, already cut, and sometimes you only need to put the package in the microwaves and in 5 minutes you have a complete meal ready.

I don’t like this way of “cooking”, even though it can be handy for some people, or in a rush situation. Otherwise you will always eat pizza. I really prefer to “lose” 30 or 40 minutes of my life cooking my own dishes. It is cheaper, and you always have the satisfaction of do-it-yourself. You can even cook extra rations, and then you have food for two days. 😉

Anyway, I like the way AH has organized the supermarket. Even the cash system has been simplified. If you only have 5 or 6 items, you can put your maandje on some special rails, and the teller will scan your products and you can put them on your bag. It was my first time, so I was a bit confused, but it can be more efficient. The majority of young people only buy 4 or 5 things at a time, instead of shopping for the whole month. In my case, I buy as much as I can put in my backpack, and when I need one of the 3 “critical” products: bread, milk and yogurt.

Stay tuned for the last post!

Leave a Reply

