From Delft to Sweden

Sunday, 29 June 2008

First step is relatively important: I cannot miss the flight to Stockholm! With that in mind, I wake up early (around 10h30), so I can shower, shave and have breakfast without stressing myself. I already prepared my backpack on Thursday, because on Friday I went to Assen to watch the MotoGP with some friends from Majorca (more on another post). After giving some water to my plants, I’m ready to go out. The train from 12h03 is already gone. I cycle to the station to catch the next one without pressure. In the train to Eindhoven, I meet a girl who’s going to India for one year. She’s also reading a travel guide. Hers is about India, mine about Norway. We talk a little bit over our trips, and then we continue reading. I already feel excited.

Equipatge Escandinavia 2008

In Eindhoven, I buy a small strippenkaart in the AH ToGo. I’m hungry, and I still have time before the bus 401 comes, so I buy a kebap. Today there is aanbieding! I ate it while I’m queueing. After 20 minutes by bus, we arrive to the airport. I like it. It’s small and practical. I already have my printed boarding pass, so I don’t need to queue for it. Nice. I pass the security control without problems. I always empty my bottle of water before, so I can refill it afterward. I’ve arrived quite early, so I have time to think about the trip, and start writing some notes. They are quite useful now. What I didn’t know about Ryanair is that if you have checked in online you have priority to board, even if you didn’t pay extra. Next time I’ll be aware of it.

On the plane, I sit close to a Chinese couple. I continue reading my guide, ignoring all Ryanair offers and games.

Skavsta airport, 120km from Stockholm, is even smaller than Eindhoven’s. I look for Marga and Toni, but they’re still not there. I don’t panic. I know my friends can be easily 30 minutes late. I take my time. Quite amazingly, they arrive in 20 minutes. When I see the car, I have a nice surprise. We’ll drive Volkswagen Polo TDI1.4 “eco”. I like it. What I didn’t know is that diesel is more expensive than benzine (in the Netherlands is the other way around). Anyway, I hope that “eco” means “economic”. 😉

Toni posant amb el Polo

We have seen each other for a while, so we start talking in the car. Our destination is Örebro. It’s 18h30, and campings usually close at 20h (or 21h as the latest), so there is no time to lose. The Swedish countryside is beautiful. Green as in Holland, with lakes instead of canals and, most important thing, with mountains!

My friends are quite tired, because they have been driving 400km without stopping anywhere. They waked up late, and start driving from Göteborg at 15h. We won’t be able to sleep at Örebro. Marga phones to several camping sites. At the second try we get a booking. I could not believe finding accommodation was so easy. We have a small cabin with 4 beds, kitchen and TV for 500SEK. Shower and WC are outside.

Primera aturada a un llac

We arrive at Kalmarslunds camping (near Lindesberg) around 21h30. Our host is very friendly. She explains to us how to use the facilities. The doors of the shower and WC can be opened with a pincode. In the room next to the reception, her husband is watching the UEFA Euro 2008 championship final. Toni is excited. Spain is beating Germany for 1-0. We pay and go quickly to our cabin. We can even park our car in front of it! I connect the TV, while the others enter the luggage. We seat exhausted on the sofa. The match is about to finish. Some minutes more and Spain can be champion! (…) Yes, they made it! I cannot believe it. I didn’t watch any of the football matches, tired of seeing our team losing at quarters. I’m surprised.

I call my mum to tell her I arrived. Then we have dinner. Salmon with Russian (?) salad and bread. After washing the dishes, it’s time to go to the lake. Did I mention that there are many lakes in Sweden? The lake is only 100m down the hill. The sight is really impressive. It’s around midnight, but there is still some light. Not daylight, but you can see perfectly in front of you. There is a small island in the water, and the trees get reflexed on the water. There is a beautiful sunset in the horizon. We decide to take a picture of us at midnight every day, so we can observe the difference. Toni wants to swim until the island, but I find the water a bit cold. For me it’s enough to dunk my feet. I find a toy on the lake border, half buried in the sand. It makes a funny sound. I’m so happy!

Midnight group photo in Kalmarsunds

When we return to our cabin to sleep, we see the Moon in the sky. It’s not full, but it has n orange tone I never saw before. It gets also a reflection in the water. It’s amazing. We still have so many things to see! 🙂

3 Responses to From Delft to Sweden

  1. guillem says:

    Collonut, bonissim… esper més capitols 😀

  2. Tomeu says:

    Aquí un altre seguidor de l’aventura. Espectacular la foto de mitjanit, i boníssim el comentari de: “I look for Marga and Toni, but they’re still not there. I don’t panic. I know my friends can be easily 30 minutes late”.

    Tanmateix en el fons no canviam!

  3. […] Then I started to go to some Jazz sessions, watch movies at the Filmhuis, visit museums, borrow books from the library. Improving my cultural life. I was also moving around, in “discover” mode. Paris, Köln, Brussels, Torino, Praha & Budapest (post is still in draft), Scandinavia… […]

Leave a comment